Okay… I’m glad I didn’t set myself up to feel guilty about this, but it’s been a long while since I did my next celebrity caricature and blog post.  Not that I haven’t been working on caricatures, but they’ve been paid gigs of the non-celebrity variety.

However, one of my friends has found that these caricatures that I’ve been doing for fun and practice are also something that she wanted to purchase as a gift for friends!  Bonus!

So I took two of these previous images, added some elements, and had a couple of mugs made for her to give as gifts.

I think they turned out great and it’s a fun way to use a caricature other than just hanging it on the wall.

So my friend hasn’t finished with this idea yet, but now she’s gone from simply using the caricatures I’ve already done to putting in her request for my next celeb.

And her special request was: Selena Gomez

Miss Gomez is one of those Disney-created popstars who came to fame as the breakout star of “The Wizards of Waverly Place”, a silly sitcom borrowing from the old formula established by “Bewitched”, “I Dream of Jeanie”, and “My Favorite Martian”: a person with magical powers tries to fit in with average society… and hilarious hijinks ensue!

Not surprisingly, the super-cute Gomez has become a regular on the covers of magazines and also has followed the path of other Disney-guided child actors into the world of pop music (see Britney Spears, Miley Cyrus, etc.).

Now Selena is one half of the ultimate heart-throb couple with fellow cutiepie Justin Bieber. As I was completing this caricature, I had a conversation with my daughter in which she pointed out that they don’t have a couple name (i.e. Beniffer or TomKat). So I propose either Biebez or Gomer… kinda like Gomer…

Anyway, I’m not sure how my Selena will be used by my friend. She may end up on another mug or maybe she’ll be on an iphone cover.  I’ll post a photo of the final product.

So, do you have a request?

